An Emotional, Thought Provoking, Party Game – Tell Me…

Welcome to a new A Roll of The Dice, with me, Adam. Today we will be reviewing one of the more emotional games I have ever played, and one that really causes you to think about life, love, and everything in between. This is a bit outside of my usual reviews, and to be honest, my usual games all together. I wanted to give this one a try because I have never really been able to find a good game for a close group of friends. Something that really makes us all open up to one another, and feel comfortable about it. Let’s see what I am talking about, and jump right in.

As I’ve said in the past, why go through a long explanation of rules if the creator has perfected a way to do that.

Tell me

Very straight forward, and very intriguing. Let’s see what the group thought.

Design : Adam – 8, Alex – 8, Alysia – 8

Adam – Not a bad thing, as the style is very minimalistic, which is by far what this game is going for. I loved the logo and the design of the box/cards. It is meant to be basic, because the game is focusing more on the game play, rather than the flashy pictures. I appreciated this factor.

Alex – Completely agree, by focusing on the game itself instead of the over the top graphics, they really helped build exactly what they wanted to do. They made you think, and they made you understand the concept of the questions. You weren’t worried about seeing the next cute image.

Tell me 2

Replay Value : Adam – 9, Alex – 9, Alysia – 9.5

Adam – This game has a lot of replay, because the same question could have a million different answers. It depends on the person answering, their mood, the cards themselves, and the atmosphere of the game. We had the same question come up twice, and the answers were completely different.

Alex – What he said.

Fun Factor : Adam – 8, Alex – 6, Alysia – 9

Adam – I thought this was a fun game. It honestly had me thinking a lot more than most of the games I play. I was not only using my creative thoughts, but it had me thinking about my own answers, and why I would choose them. By far, one of the most thought provoking games I have played in a long time.

Alex – I did have some fun, and I know the game is fun for most. I didn’t dislike the game, it just is not made for people who are a bit more uncomfortable with answering sometimes personal questions. I know most will enjoy it, but for me it was just too much sometimes.

1) Where did the idea for this game come from?

Really loving the conversations I have in some of my social circles. And feeling frustration in other social circles where conversations stay at the surface level and don’t feel connected or enlivened.

2) What are your top three favourite games of all time?

Taboo, gin rummy, 42 with dominos

3) If you had to describe your game in one sentence, what would it be?

It is a deck of question cards that invites deeper connected conversation with family and friends in a fun and inviting way

4) Where can people get a copy/learn more information?

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/394095029/tell-me-authentic-conversation-game & Tellmethegame.com

5) Anything else you feel the readers should know?

Please pledge to the Kickstarter campaign to receive a deck.

 

Thanks for everything Kelly, and good luck in the campaign. We hope to see great things from the game.

Tune in next week, when we review King of Crime, another Dan Smith spectacular.

Leave a Reply

