Body Slammin’, DDPin, Power Bombin’ Action! – Pro Wrasslin’ Battle Royale

Welcome, ladies and gentlemen, to another edition of A Roll of The Dice with me, Adam. This week, as all weeks, we will be going over an indie game. The name? Pro Wrasslin’ Battle Royale, which is a catchy name for any wrestling fans out there. So why don’t we jump in today and make a splash. (I’m so sorry, so many wrestling puns are coming)

Wrasslin

The rules of the game are fairly simple, but when I first opened the box I almost cried. It was six cards full of rules, double sided, but after going over them I realized that I knew what wrestling was all about, and BOOM it cut the amount of rules I needed to learn in half. Honestly it may seem complicated at first, but as you get into actually starting a game, it really isn’t. You try and hit moves, as your opponent tries to block/reverse. First person to lose their life points, can get pinned. Pretty straight forward, but one of the rules I love is that there is “illegal” moves, which cause more damage. In the deck, there is also one DQ card which if played when an opponent is playing an “illegal” move, causes them to be eliminated. Very powerful card, which is why the creator only put one in the 100 card deck. Honestly that many cards is a stunner but they play well, so we won’t do any moonsaults over it. (I can’t stop, the game is making me)

Design : Adam – 8, Alex – 7

Adam – I thought the design was fun and creative. It honestly gave homage to the wrestling world, while not trying to be perfect. Very over the top, and using the standard playing card size. Honestly, this game felt complete, and with so much work being put into so many different styles of cards, I could tell the creator loved what he was doing. He has a passion for wrestling and it shows.

Alex – I agree that there is a lot of good, creative work that went into the game, it just felt slightly unfinished. Now, I know you may take this as a bad thing, and I do not mean it as one, as this could very well be what it was meant to be. For me, I just prefer card games that look complete and stunning. This one is really well done, just seems a bit rushed I guess.

Wrasslin2

Replay Value : Adam – 8.5, Alex – 9

Adam – I love the replay value, as with all the other card games I have reviewed, a simple shuffle of the deck brings a multitude of possibilities. Mix this with the amount of characters there are, and you have a fun time, many times. This is the type of game we were loving to play between our long board game plays. Great time filler game, as it plays nice and short.

Alex – I thought the replay was awesome, because every time I picked a new character, I was changing my whole style of play. I felt like I was the wrestler, which caused me to make completely different decisions. I have to say, I felt like I was very immersed in this one which is odd as I am not a huge wrestling fan. I am a huge Wrasslin’ fan now though.

Fun Factor : Adam – 8, Alex – 9

Adam – Loved it, honestly it was a fun time. We had some laughs, and I had a lot of frustration when on the first turn I tried to hit an illegal move and BAM game over thanks to Alex’s freaking DQ card. That may be my bias on the game, that the players (my) own stupidity can end the game so quickly. Honestly I had a good time, and I think people should really give this one a chance.

Alex – Completely agree with Adam on this one. I feel like this game is a fun time waster, while being relatively easy to pick-up and play, especially with people who are not huge gamers. Plus, who doesn’t like the idea of Pro-Wrasslin’?

Wrasslin3

Honestly, we had fun with this one. Starting from now on, we will be finishing our review with our recommendation section. This just tells the reader what type of gamer will most enjoy this.

Recommendation : This game is best for a casual gamer, looking for a quick fix. Also, if you are a wrestling fan, then you will definitely get a kick out of this one.

1) Where did the idea for this game come from?

I’m not sure exactly where the idea came from – it was a long time ago, maybe 2000 but could have been earlier…Anyway the game was conceptualized during a conversation I had with my old mate Bad Dave. We talked about having a multiplayer card game that represented a pro-wrestling match. I think the idea predated the Raw Deal CCG, though I didn’t develop Pro-Wrasslin’ Battle Royale until much later.

2) What are your top three favourite games of all time? 

Tough call, I’m going to say my three favourite games are:
I)Warhammer Fantasy Battle – I’m not going to specify an edition, I’ve played since 3rd edition and enjoyed them all despite the various quirks. I’m a bit concerned about the rumoured changes coming to 9th edition but not overly as I have Warpack in development.
II) Magic: The Gathering – amazing classic design, now sadly undercut by commercial concerns
III) Whatever I’m working on at the moment – if I didn’t love it then what would be the point?

3) If you had to describe your game in one sentence, what would it be?

Pro-Wrasslin’ Battle Royale is an electrifying card game of hand management, talking trash and laying the smack down in the hallowed squared circle!

4) Where can people get a copy/learn more information?

My Kickstarter for Pro-Wrasslin’ Battle Royale is on Kickstarter right now! Hurry, I need your help!

http://kck.st/1wFgMCK

In the future I will hopefully have the game available from DriveThruCards.com too.

5) Anything else you feel the readers should know?

The game plays like a wild mash up of Kill Dr Lucky, Raw Deal and Munchkin. Check out the Kickstarter and Dicingwithdesign.com to watch an actual play and hear a full rundown of the game.

 

Thanks so much for your time, and the fun. Stay Tuned next week for Tell Me… and (hopefully no storm this time) our broadcast of Witches!

Leave a Reply

